1. Share specific files with external parties – You no longer need to provide access to the entire workspace.
2. Publish only when you are ready – No need to duplicate content when you’re making updates. You can work privately in the workspace, then publish only the latest version when you’re ready.
3. Viewers are anonymous from each other – You can keep the private conversations and audit trail private, while only the content is made public.
4. Create template emails linking to workspace collateral – Sales can use them daily, and the marketing team can update the content if required.
5. No need to duplicate content – add a note or keep a template email with links to public content if you need to reuse published information
How do I create a public link?
Workspace Managers can turn on the feature via a workspace setting:
Once enabled, any file editors in that workspace will be able to make files public from that workspace.
There are two ways to do this:
Share "Outside workspace" - This new option lets file editors create a public link or access the already created link to this file.
Get Link - you can also create a public link in exactly the same way from this dialogue.
File editors have full control over when a file is made public or when the public copy is disabled. New versions are not made public automatically, so users can keep working on public content, comment, approve and then only publish the new version when they are ready.
The green globe icon is shown when the latest version of a file is public. If later versions have been uploaded, but not yet made public, the version which is public is shown alongside an orange icon. Clicking on the icon gives you quick access to the links, and to update the public copy to the latest version:
Company Manager Oversight
Once a file is public, it's possible that it may be shared very widely. Anyone with the link will have access, and if it is shared on an already public website, Search engines like Google or Bing are likely to find and index the content. Meaning it may come up in a web search.
As a result, Company Managers have full oversight into all content made public from inside their Huddle accounts.
Company managers can filter the content by title, publisher, or workspace. Allowing them to easily find out what an individual, or team are posting online. If a particular file is inappropriately published, they can disable the link. The content will be removed from the public web within a few seconds.
Company managers on enterprise accounts with Huddle will soon be able to brand their published sites. We will also include hit counts for published files to give an indication as to their popularity.